The Mildred P. McKay Scholarship Fund

 Excerpted from the article written by Mark Branoff, NHLTA Treasurer, in the Spring 2014 newsletter.

At its September 1964 Annual Meeting, the New Hampshire Library Trustees Association embarked on a most ambitious project—the creation of a scholarship in honor of former State Librarian Mildred P. McKay.

At that time only 17 of the 231 New Hampshire public libraries were administered by professional librarians. The University of New Hampshire offered a course to train the lay librarian in four, three-week summer sessions. However, the course costs were beyond the means of many lay librarians. NHLTA acted on its belief that upon completion of this course, the trained librarians would increase book circulation and improve library services. In September 1965, the NHLTA formally established a perpetual scholarship fund with support from members and other individuals who provided part of the initial funding along with donations from foundations.

Since its inception, the McKay Scholarship Fund grew steadily with additional donations from foundations, individuals, and libraries along with the fund’s appreciation and income generation. The New Hampshire Charitable Fund manages the funds which are distributed by the NHLTA on an annual basis. The scholarship recipient selection criteria have changed over the years. Scholarship aid is provided for courses, workshops and conferences, and applicants must be either a current trustee board member or presently employed in a New Hampshire library.

NHLTA believes that continuing education is the prime factor in providing high quality library services. The Mildred McKay Scholarship Fund provides scholarship aid to residents of New Hampshire in order to improve library services within the state.

Scholarships are awarded for graduate courses (e.g., MLS and MLIS courses), certificate courses, conferences (including NHLTA’s Annual Conference) and workshops. Past McKay Scholarship recipients may also apply for another scholarship for that next graduate course, up-coming conference or important workshop. 

Download Criteria-Application Form.

NHLTA Annual Awards

"Honoring Those Special Contributors Who Connect the Library to the Community"
Awards are presented annually to individuals or groups who havecontributed to the excellence of New Hampshire libraries and have given exemplary service in connecting the library with the community.


Lillian Edelmann Trustee of the Year: Tammy Hooker, Hooksett Public Library, 31 Mount St Mary’s Way, Hooksett
Presented on November 14, 2019

Library of the Year: Goffstown Public Library
Presented on October 10, 2019

Library Director of the Year: Donna Dunlap, Hopkinton Town Library
Presented on November 3, 2019
Sue Palmatier Award for Outstanding Support by a “Friends of the Library” Group:
Friends of the Lincoln Library, 22 Church Street, Lincoln
Presented on February 4, 2020

Special Library Service Contribution Award: Carolee Davidson, Chichester Library
Presented on November 9, 2019

Download the list of winners to date since 1988.
Download the criteria.